There are different types of DUI charges in Michigan. In certain circumstances, a DUI charge will become a felony instead of a misdemeanor. Felony charges are subject to higher fines and longer jail times than misdemeanors.
Keep reading for more information about the differences between a misdemeanor and a felony DUI.
<h2>DUI charges as a misdemeanor</h2>
According to FindLaw, the <a href=”https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fstatelaws.findlaw.com%2Fmichigan-law%2Fmichigan-dui-laws.html&data=02%7C01%7CLarry.Keltto%40thomsonreuters.com%7Cafbe7db28f4749a7a98708d80311325e%7C62ccb8646a1a4b5d8e1c397dec1a8258%7C0%7C0%7C637262719674649556&sdata=dfmxGDb58lIiVR1zdJbw7Q%2BF3eQ%2FQUJUbDNbAcbwQAg%3D&reserved=0″ target=”_blank” rel=”noopener”>legal blood alcohol concentration</a> limit is anything under 0.08%. Michigan is also a zero-tolerance state, which means that if you are under 21 and have a BAC of 0.02% or higher, you can face DUI charges. For a first- or second-time offender, this will translate into a misdemeanor with applicable license suspensions, fines and jail time. A first-time offender will see penalties of up to 93 days in jail, with a fine of up to $500. A second-time offender may see jail time of up to a year, with fines as high as $1,000.
<h2>DUI charges as a felony</h2>
If you are facing a DUI charge and your situation involved any of the following, your DUI will be a felony charge as opposed to a misdemeanor.
<li>You are facing your third DUI charge</li>
<li>You seriously injury someone else</li>
<li>You fatally wound someone else, leading to their death</li>
Under these circumstances, your fines and jail time will increase. You may see up to five years in prison, along with a fine of up to $5,000, if you injure someone else. If you kill someone, however, you could spend up to 15 years in jail and pay fines of up to $10,000.